regulation
ICE and Trade[XYZ] file to bring Hyperliquid-style perpetual futures onshore in the US
NYSE parent ICE announced ICE[XYZ], a planned US perpetual-futures venue with Trade[XYZ], covering equities, indices, commodities, FX and crypto. CFTC approval pending; ICE taking a stake.
Intercontinental Exchange (ICE), parent of the New York Stock Exchange, on Oct 29 announced plans with Trade[XYZ] — the firm behind the HIP-3 markets that run on Hyperliquid — to build a dedicated US perpetual-futures venue branded ICE[XYZ], subject to CFTC approval. The plan includes new exchange and clearing infrastructure in the US, a strategic investment by ICE in Trade[XYZ] on undisclosed terms, and continued operation of Trade[XYZ]'s existing Hyperliquid markets alongside the new US venue. First reported by CoinDesk and in French by Cryptoast.
What is being built
- Venue: a US perpetual-futures market under the ICE[XYZ] brand.
- Infrastructure: new exchange and clearing layer, built for perpetual contracts rather than listed-futures roll mechanics.
- Products: equities, indices, commodities, FX and crypto perpetual contracts, offered through participating brokers and platforms.
- Access: through brokers; CFTC approval is required before any contract can list.
- Hyperliquid side: Trade[XYZ]'s existing Hyperliquid markets, deployed via HIP-3 (Hyperliquid's permissioned market-maker standard), will keep running in parallel.
- Investment: ICE is making a strategic investment in Trade[XYZ]; terms were not disclosed.
- Backers mentioned: investor Stan Druckenmiller is among those joining the project.
Neither party disclosed a launch date. The ICE release says product details, eligibility, and timing will follow "as approvals progress."
Why Hyperliquid
Trade[XYZ] is one of the largest HIP-3 deployers on Hyperliquid. The company told reporters its Hyperliquid-based perpetual markets have cleared over $650 billion in volume in just over a year of operation. Those markets include an S&P 500 perpetual licensed in March 2026, oil (Brent) perpetuals, and a SpaceX pre-IPO contract. Hyperliquid itself does not serve the US; access requires a non-US venue or a jurisdiction-permitted broker intermediary.
ICE's own public posture on Hyperliquid shifted through 2026: earlier in the year the exchange lobbied the CFTC jointly with CME to force federal oversight on Hyperliquid's 24/7 commodity markets, citing manipulation concerns. CEO Jeff Sprecher then described Hyperliquid as a product category too consequential to ignore — "bigger than Nasdaq" by his volume math — and said ICE had held multiple meetings with the Hyperliquid team.
Oct 29 is the publicly committed version of that stance: build the US venue rather than block the offshore one.
Numbers
| Trade[XYZ] Hyperliquid volume to date | > $650B (since ~Oct 2025) |
| Products in scope for ICE[XYZ] | Equities, indices, commodities, FX, crypto perps |
| Regulator approval needed | CFTC |
| ICE stake in Trade[XYZ] | Strategic, terms not disclosed |
| Existing Trade[XYZ] S&P 500 perp license | March 2026 |
| Notable backer | Stan Druckenmiller |
Regulatory shape
The CFTC under Chair Michael Selig has shifted toward a case-by-case review for crypto perpetual contracts since May 2026 — the regime that cleared Kalshi's BTCPERP that month. A second filing of equivalent scope is a different lift because of the multi-asset mandate: equities and indices sit under both CFTC (futures) and SEC (securities) authority in US rails, and the SEC is not named in today's announcement.
Watch two threads:
- The CFTC designation path. For a futures venue, ICE needs a DCM registration layer plus a clearinghouse; ICE's existing clearinghouses give it an advantage over greenfield applicants.
- The SEC question on security-referenced perps. Equity-reference perpetuals that cash-settle may not need SEC registration, but the plumbing lives at the boundary. Trade[XYZ]'s S&P 500 licensing is one data point — a license from S&P Global, not an SEC action.
What to watch
- Public filing. The CFTC rule-making or no-action request. Until something lands on the CFTC docket, the announcement is intent.
- Clearing structure. Whether ICE routes clearing through ICE Clear US or stands up a new entity. Perpetuals' funding-rate mechanics do not map onto listed-futures roll logic that ICE Clear is built around.
- Trade[XYZ]'s valuation. The investment is strategic; the ratio ICE paid defines the industry's price for an HIP-3 operator and, by extension, for Hyperliquid's deployment layer.
- Hyperliquid governance. The HIP-3 markets that keep running are permissioned by Hyperliquid's validator set; the chain's response to its largest HIP-3 operator building a US-regulated parallel venue is the governance question that will reach a Hyperliquid proposal thread.
Context
ICE invested up to $2 billion in Polymarket in October 2025, taking a stake in the US prediction-market space. The Oct 29 announcement puts a second structural bet alongside: perpetuals, through a Hyperliquid-adjacent operator. Both plays use the CFTC's event-contract and perps posture as the regulatory entry point rather than the SEC's securities framework, and both route around NYSE's own equity rails rather than through them. For the exchange that is the US equity order book, the second venue is where the derivatives expansion of the brand is being staked.